Comfort food: Asparagus & rice

When the too-short asparagus season hits New Jersey each spring, I’m always reminded of one of my favorite dishes from childhood. For me, asparagus is the defining ingredient in the ultimate comfort food: asparagus and rice.

My grandmother’s specialty, asparagus and rice was often enjoyed as a side dish. But now that Andrew and I eat so little meat, I’m always on the lookout for veggie-packed dishes that are filling enough to constitute a full dinner. This simple, fresh combination of asparagus, onion, garlic, cheese, and rice is the perfect May meal.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. asparagus, washed and cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 cup uncooked rice (white or brown)
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan or Romano cheese, freshly grated

Directions:

Cook rice. In a separate pan, heat oil. Saute garlic and onion in the oil until translucent. Add asparagus and cook until tender (about 15 minutes). Remove pan from heat. Stir in cooked rice and cheese. Makes two meal-sized servings or four side dish servings. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment